About | Who We Are

The Mission of the Person County Tourism Development Authority is to promote the growth of responsible tourism through marketing strategies and programs that balance economic growth with the need to preserve the natural and cultural heritage of the Roxboro and Person County area.

Our office is located at 705 Durham Road in Roxboro.
Call 336-597-2689 for more information.

The Person County TDA was formed in 1997 by NC House Bill 859 under General Statutes G.S. 153A–155 and operates under the Local Government Budget and Fiscal Control Act. The TDA is managed by a Board of six Directors; three appointed by the Person County Commissioners and three appointed by the Roxboro City Council. Each body chooses one hotel/motel/inn owner or manager as one of the three appointees. The other two must actively promote travel and tourism in the area. After 2001, the Authority shall use at least two-thirds of the funds to promote travel and tourism and shall use the remainder for tourism-related expenditures.  Special monetary grants may be awarded to organizations that sponsor events that are tourism related and/or the event encourages people to stay overnight in our area accommodations.

The Person County TDA meetings are generally held the 1st Tuesday of each month at 10 A.M. in the Conference Room of the Person County Visitor and Information Center. Meeting announcements are published in the Courier-Times one week prior to a meeting.

December 7th, 2021

January 4th, 2022

February 1st, 2022

March 1st, 2022

April 5th, 2022

May 3rd, 2022

June 7th, 2022

July 5th, 2022

August 2nd, 2022

September 6th, 2022

October 4th, 2022

November 1st, 2022

December 6th, 2022

Grant forms are available in pdf format, to print (click here)

Dr. Claudia Berryhill, DVM – Chairperson
Sally Humphries – Vice-Chairperson
Herman Gentry
Linda Long
Vicki O’Duffy
Biran Patel


Executive Director: Marley Spencer

Hosanna Blanchard